Japan and Singapore have been named countries with world’s powerful passports. Both countries tied for first place with access to 180 countries, visa-free.

Last year’s most powerful country Germany has dropped to having the second most powerful passport, with visa-free access to 179 countries.

According to the index published by London based consulting firm Henley & Partners inreal time based on visa changes policy, these two asian countries have the easiest access to the other countries of the world. The firm take into account how many countries each nationality can visit without app lying for a visa.
The culprit country that caused the ratings upset is Uzbekistan, who removed visa requirements for Singapore and Japan in an effort to increase tourism.

The changes also meant Australia jumped up a place to sixth most powerful passport in the world. We can now visit 174 countries visa-free, up from 171.

While having an Australian passport puts you among the world’s most powerful travellers, it’s also one of the world’s most expensive. A recent study found that Australian passports, which increased in price by $5 to $282 on January 1 this year, are the world’s second-most expensive. Only war-torn Syria had a pricier passport, costing $500.

The new, improved Henley Passport Index website provides comprehensive lists of the countries you can access visa-free, with an e-visa, with visa on arrival or with a regular visa.

The new site also allows users explore visa requirements for any country in the world, and compare them with you own, allowing you to calculate how you travel freedom could be improved with an alternative passport.

The current list of world’s most powerful passports
1. Japan, Singapore (180 countries)

2. Germany (179 countries)

3. Denmark, Finland, France, Italy, Sweden, Spain, South Korea (178 countries)

4. Norway, United Kingdom, Austria, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal (177 countries)

5. Switzerland, Ireland, United States, Canada (176 countries)

6. Belgium, Australia, Greece (174 countries)

7. New Zealand, Czech Republic, Malta (173 countries)

8. Iceland (172 countries)